CALL US AT (724) 758-3248

Store History


Blocher Jewelers was founded in 1907 by the late Paul W. Blocher. Mr. Blocher was born in 1875 in Gettysburg and was educated at Juniata College, Bowman School of Watch-making in Lancaster and the University of Pennsylvania in Philadelphia. Paul strived to build the business, and achieved great success in Ellwood.

In 1938, Paul W. passed away, leaving his daughter Ruth Blocher Rearic to assume leadership of the store. Under Ruth, the store flourished. With her love of knowledge, she became one of the first women to become a member of the American Gem Society. By 1947, Blocher's had outgrown its original home, and Ruth decided to relocate the store to 507 Lawrence Avenue. Soon after in 1954, Ruth's daughter, Rikki Blocher Rearic Blank joined her at the store.Finally, in 1992 Mary Blank DiCaprio became the fourth generation to enter the Blocher world.

With continuing success into the 21st Century, Blocher's outgrew its iconic Lawrence Avenue location, and the decision was made by Mary to move the store to a larger location in the Franklin Plaza in 2007, just in time to celebrate Blocher's 100th Anniversary. Today we've been in Ellwood City for 110 years, and we still hold true to the original values of family, quality, and tradition that have made Blocher's a century old institution.

LOADING...